Snowmore!

I’m a mom of two young kids. I don’t read a lot of newspapers anymore (but let’s face it, no one really does), I can’t listen to NPR without multiple interruptions and I’m seldom able to watch the nightly news. In fact, sadly, my main source for news these days is from Facebook, which is why I feel the portal of doom has opened.

For the past two days, about every fifth post mentions the impending snowstorm that’s about to wallop a huge portion of the US. Up here in Boston, we already have 30+ inches on the ground, 60 since the first snow on December 26th and the storm that blows in tomorrow promises between 18-24 more inches.

Let me put this into perspective for you. My two-year-old son is 33 inches tall, my almost five-year-old daughter is 42 inches, if they stood on top of one another, they’d JUST make it to the top of the snow we’re after tomorrow.

On the wall calendar in my kitchen, I started marking the snow and sick days. We’ve had our fair share of both but so far, snow’s winning by 2. I expect that this next storm will close schools for at least one day, likely two and I’m long out of snow-day ideas and recipes.

Our neighbors have kids that are old enough to embrace a great snow day (or five). They have friends to go sledding with, snowball fights to wage, and stamina to brave the elements for more than 20 minutes at a stretch. My kids are not there.

I took them sledding recently, after our second big snow storm. It took me 45 minutes to suit them up, prepare a thermos of hot cocoa, shovel a path to our shed where the sleds were, warm up the car and get to the sledding hill. The elder went down three times while the younger whimpered from parking lot to hilltop and back again. We were there for 35 minutes. Thank God for hot cocoa.

My good friend over at Slightly Wonky built an igloo with her three-year-old but somehow, that doesn’t seem to brighten my outlook much. So while I contemplate how white padded walls might look instead of the lovely Benjamin Moore Autumn Cover ones we currently have, feel free to throw me a life line. What do you do with your snow days?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 07:14:19

    We feel your pain – sick days and snow days are more and more of a common thing in our house. Our 71″ since Christmas has left piles so high from plowing that my car is actually STUCK in the garage b/c of the snow that is over my head now.
    On snow days, we’ve loosened up a bit on the amount of electronics we allow ours’ to watch. It’s not a babysitter, but a filler for the times I’m about to go mad. But, my son is older and he will go outside. He will also, begrundgingly I admit, help me clean up – mostly b/c it’s his stuff. 🙂
    Other then that, we just go with the flow. Today I’m going to let him help me cook something and he’ll help his dad bring in wood for the fire. I think that on these days, they are just so happy to be home with you!

    Good luck my friend!

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 21:08:24

      Thanks for reading Nikki and thanks for your positive spin on things. I’m befuddled that you have been without a car since Christmas, I would really go bonkers without a car that I could at least drive in all of this crazy white stuff. Keep up your chin and keep planning for summer (like by focusing on lifeguards for the town beach and camp counselors and such)!

      Reply

  2. slightlywonky
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 08:14:45

    “Portal of doom…”, I love it!!! Kudos to you for showing the kids a good time with the sledding outing. You even made hot cocoa! I have no brilliant snow day suggestions…some things that tend to eat up a lot of time, and thus make the day pass are: 1. Playdoh, 2. painting, 3. markers and rubber stamping, 4. block towers, 5. eating, 6. more Playdoh, 7. board games, 8. Legos, 9. did I mention Playdoh?, 10. building tents/forts out of blankets…

    All of this should keep you occupied until around 10:30 am, or so. Only another 8 1/2 hours until bedtime…no prob…

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 21:11:12

      Sometimes I get so hung up on what is blog-worthy and then I read your post yesterday and laughed so much I simply had to pour out my feelings about the weather too. Admittedly, I am still chuckling about how grumpy having an igloo in your front yard must make you though. Your ideas, 1-10 are terrific ones, what are you talking about. Maybe now is the time to turn your artistic endeavors toward sculpture, snow sculpture, ice sculpture, carving small figurines out of soap or wood (to replace Elmo and Big Bird of course)…thoughts?

      Reply

  3. eg
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 15:12:49

    I need to motivate to do some of the stuff on this blog (instead of relying on The Sound of Music to parent my child): http://laughpaintcreate.blogspot.com/ . Also, check out the CraftyCrow.

    Good luck with the snow. Think how great your garden will be this year.

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 21:28:09

      Maybe now is the time to rely on Ma and Pa Ingalls for some positive parenting role models on Buzzy and Rosie…

      Thanks for the great crafty blog links (curse you!) I wish I was creative. I used to think I was but I kids (or college) sapped it out of me. Looks like tomorrow we’ll be playing with glitter play doh and making heartcicles (and quite possibly an igloo during nap time). Cheers!

      Reply

  4. cecile
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 09:40:57

    I am with you! Oh, I hope tomorrow is NOT a snow day, my Thursdays are your Tuesdays, if you see what I mean. Could we try and meet somewhere in between your place and mine to build an igloo / sled / whatever (like… vin chaud, maybe ?)

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 22:08:29

      I’ll meet anywhere and do just about anything in the snow as long as it involves vin chaud! Thanks for reading and I’m glad they didn’t make Thursday a snow day (enough is enough I say!…SNOWMORE!!)

      Reply

  5. DH
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 23:24:32

    Keep your spirits up! Looks like we may get another 4-8″ this weekend. That would be over our kids’ (collective) heads, and just slightly under Shaq’s!

    http://www.boston.com/news/weather/graphics/2011_snowfall/

    This is just ridiculous. Fortunately I’ve been home for this last storm…and shoveling this evening what the town plow blocked our driveway with was as dense as concrete.

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 22:06:52

      Though you sit across the table from e as I type, DH, I still am committed to replying to anyone loyal enough to leave a comment on my blog so here goes: thank you my love (you didn’t get the moniker DH for nothing) for being home and for [finally] doing some of the [damn] shoveling. Let’s all try to be out of town for the next storm, shall we?

      Reply

  6. Elizabeth Peltz
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 19:04:42

    Hey cousin! I hope you are hanging in there – has any of the snow melted? Just wanted to let you know I read this and LOVE IT! Your voice is funny, thoughtful, sharp (in a good way, like cheese), and loving – so great to read.

    Keep it up! Thinking of you, Elizabeth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

