Off We Go To Mexico!

In May, when my mom made the offer to take my family (2 kids, one DH and me) to Mexico for Christmas, of course we were excited but it’s easy to drag your feet on something that’s more than 6 months away when it’s the beginning of the best three months New England has to offer. We didn’t really buckle down to find accommodations or even narrow down a location until summer drew to a close and holiday bookings were beginning to pop up. But now it’s just one day away and we’re beside ourselves with giddy.

Since we have a 4-year-old and an almost 2-year-old, we had two critical criteria for the trip: 1. kid friendly, 2. all-inclusive. Surprisingly, in our distant pasts, neither DH nor I ever would have dreamed of staying at, let alone enjoy, an all-inclusive, large-scale resort but like I’ve said before, having kids makes you do wild and wacky things. So our choice adequately meets criteria #2. But I feel pretty certain it knocks the ball out of the park on criteria #1. I think we may have found one of only a few resorts that actually has a kids club beginning at age 2 (please don’t ask for our son’s passport at check in).  Regardless, on all accounts, we are fully prepared to relish in every kid-free and child-full moment of the next seven days.

Here’s what we have to look forward to: 12 activity centers, 10 restaurants, 9 pools  (plus 16 private ones attached to the haciendas),  7 bars, 5 beach cabanas, 3 lobbies, 2 kids clubs and a partridge in a pear tree. It’s my new favorite Holiday classic!

Add to this the fact that DH has been pulling all-nighters at work all week and you’re left with a total toss-up about who’s most giddy to be getting away (did I mention that there are kids clubs? every day from 10a-10p?). Anyway, if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my 5 short years since becoming a parent, it’s this: the moments apart from your kids can be as precious and priceless as some of the moments with them. Besides, our four-year-old is a bit of a despotic ruler when it comes to interacting with others so I have no doubt in my mind that in no time at all she’ll be running the kids club just like Napoleon Bonaparte.

So adios amigos! In just 24 hours we’ll be on our way to a fabulous, all-inclusive viaje…(I wonder if all-inclusive means they’ll finish up my packing and wrap the presents I’m neglecting by typing this blog post?)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 14:44:51

    Sigh…sounds heavenly. Which resort is it? Maybe this is one we can meet at sometime in the future! Or something similar somewhere else, but Mexico is high on my list. I hope you guys have an awesome time! I’ll be thinking of you here in our 5-degree-fahrenheit weather. I’m actually glad to not be travelling this year over the holidays and having a white, quiet Christmas at home 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Florence Nightingale would be so disappointed « Growing Muses

Leave a Reply

