I’m going to be 40!

OK, so maybe not this weekend but hey, it’s out there.

Before I had kids, I didn’t just celebrate my birth-day, I dragged it out for the whole month of November. I would use it as an excuse to indulge and revel in small, hedonistic pleasures, much in the same way confectioners came up with the idea of chocolate filled advent calendars. Now that I’m a mom, other births and birthdays have trumped my own and I’m OK with that but every once in a while, I miss my self-indulgent youth.

I think DH has recognized the identity shift too because this year, we’re doing something special. I don’t know what the something is, I just know that both kids will be staying with my in-laws and DH and I will be flying somewhere together. I can’t imagine spending the weekend with a more wonderful person. In fact, even if our kids were going somewhere for the weekend and we were staying home, I’d still feel totally spoiled. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my kids but let’s face it, I loved my husband first and lately we’ve been two ships passing in the night. These days, I barely know what’s going on in the world, let alone the details of my husband’s life.

DH started traveling A LOT this year. He’s away almost half of every month. It’s been this way for 11 months now and I’m still not used to it, still don’t have the routine down of managing two small kids with all their individual needs solo for days on end. I loose the drive to cook healthy, interesting meals, do creative, stimulating activities, and stay on top of daily household tasks. On the upside, I get our incredibly comfortable bed all to myself, can let the kids be a bit more goofy at mealtimes, and can spend the hours from 8p-midnight as I please, without feeling guilty that someone else is awake in the house doing something completely different. Oh, and there’s one major perk, frequent travel rewards. When it comes to scoring points, DH is like The Truth.

So again, I don’t know where we’re going this weekend nor any of the details (though tiny clues have been dropped and a few web pages left open on the family desktop). All I know is that DH has put a lot of thought into it, has made all of the arrangements himself, and there won’t be kids, cooking  or household tasks getting in the way of a morning latte and a joint co-reading of the WSJ.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 15:29:37

    Had to read the last sentence a few times. I kept picturing you have a latte and a joint 🙂 How cool that you guys are getting away, and that it’s a surprise! How romantic and freeing. Brad and I had our first weekend away together over Memorial Day (no flying involved), but we were so giddy just to be sans kids for a weekend that people thought we were goofy newlyweds. Too funny. Soooo good to catch up with you last night. Have an amazing trip!

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 15:30:33

    Couldn’t type fast enough to keep up with my brain (my lightning-speed brain). Meant to say I kept picturing you having a latte and a joint 🙂

    Reply

  3. growingmuses
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 15:38:12

    OK, did no one get the part about “I’m going to be 40?!” Not 14; I don’t do latte and joints at my age….JEESH!

    Reply

    • Rachel
      Nov 11, 2010 @ 16:09:19

      You never know what will happen when you’re away from kids! (Don’t know why I thought I typed it wrong the first time 🙂 Thanks, by the way, for the vote of confidence in my brain.

      Reply

    • Rachel
      Nov 11, 2010 @ 16:12:40

      AND, by the way, I don’t think I knew what a joint was at 14. Late bloomer I guess. Definitely sheltered.

      Reply

  4. elizabeth
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 21:58:35

    Can’t wait to hear where you end up. Good husband!

    I JUST quoted WHMS earlier today and was thinking how I needed to see it again, but I only have it on a VHS tape. Because I’m old. And it’s out there. And when I first saw that movie, the characters seemed so old to me. And now I’m older than them. I think *I* need that joint now. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Happy Birthday from All Your Friends at Facebook « Growing Muses
  6. Trackback: Wearing 4T « Growing Muses

Leave a Reply

