Lay Down your Sweet Head

Aretha’s earned her keep (not like it was costing me anything to begin with, since she was a freebie) but hey, she can stay

I figured, if I got the kids involved, I’d be more accountable for finishing the project. So I took them to the fabric store (see prior post on this one: One too Many) and let them pick out the above choices. The sewing class I signed up for got Aretha and me through the remedial stages of straight-stitch, zig-zag and reverse, yielding the results pictured here. In the process, I also developed a keen understanding for why sewing guilds  developed in the first place: it was fun!

I once attended a Bunco night and I’ve gotta say, my sewing class is a little like that. It’s part serious, part funny, all moms and completely social, we just happen to be learning how to sew instead of rolling dice. I didn’t know any of the other participants going in but gradually, like our projects, we’re piecing together. So much so, in fact, that this blog, which I thought I’d launch quietly, with just a handful of loyal, familiar readers, is now public knowledge to my fellow fashion mates. Three weeks in and I mentioned it enough during class that it’s entirely possible some of them are reading this very post.

So here’s to you, ladies of the Wednesday, Mothers & More sewing crew, thanks for talking me around my first edge; now if only one of you could show me how to wind a bobbin…

Sweet Dreams

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 08:43:10

    Wind a bobbin? First thing Wednesday evening! Pillowcases look great. Do you have a new project for class?

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Oct 19, 2010 @ 15:22:36

      yes, I’ll be making a circle-skirt for my 4 year old ad/or a duvet cover for my wee one. Guessing it will look better if you show me the bobbin winding trick and the stitches hold together.

      Reply

  2. EP
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 19:27:05

    Great post!

    When did people’s lives get so complicated? Modern lives seem so overly complicated. There are so many conflicting “priorities” in people’s everyday, and activities that seem like they belong to yester-year can often bring simple pleasures in life. Sewing guilds, growing your own vegetables…heck, even a lemonade stand! Seems like people prefer to “plug-in” to the TV/internet/gaming consoles/etc rather than engage in activities that can have meaning and impact other’s lives.

    Seems like the “opt out” movement for (former) working women has lost its luster (or at least it’s hype) that seemed to have a few years ago. Maybe its still as prevalent, and I haven’t been paying attention?….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

