One too many

Tonight, for nearly the 7th straight night this month, I pushed my kids over the edge. OK, so not both kids, just my preschooler, who is a creature of routine, structure and rules. In fact, I often think she might thrive better in a Communist regime (did I mention she’s half Chinese?). From the moment she was born, we have been on the go. When she was two months old, we moved from Washington, DC back to Boston and spent the summer on the road visiting friends and family around the North East. By the time we arrived at our destination, she was five months old and had slept in no fewer than nine places. Which probably explains why she now lives for predictable schedules and routine.

When school started up again in mid-September, I thought it was the best thing that could happen to her. What I failed to realize was how much the excitement and variety each day brought with it would take a toll on her young psyche. Limiting each day to just school and one other activity would be a stroke of sheer genius for me but it appears I’m a bit short on the genius gene these days. So it’s no wonder that today–like multiple others in its wake–I loaded one too many events on her. On  top of a morning at her nature preschool, I also scheduled a playdate with her best buddy followed by free swim at the Y, dinner at a local fast food joint and a trip to the fabric store. Needless to say, by the end of it, I was left with an overtired, dysfunctional four year old who couldn’t even pull it together long enough to brush her teeth. Thank goodness I get another fresh start tomorrow. Now about those circus tickets I’ve been meaning to buy…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 16:15:59

    Isn’t it funny, the difference between the first and second? First is very schedule bound, routine bound. Second is….well….different?
    One other thing…I have noticed that the more I push, the more susceptible I am to their causes of crankiness. Meaning that I am less likely to eat lunch, or drink enough water, or get enough rest. Then it is a real battle to see who can hold it together longer while tooth brushing. I wouldn’t normally admit that in the comment section of a blog, but …

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Oct 01, 2010 @ 23:01:04

      different yet the same, as in the way their routine shadows the elder’s right? And hey, admitting stuff is really what this blog is all about. Out with it sister, it’s cathartic!

      Reply

  2. elizabeth
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 18:10:50

    My little one literally walks into walls and falls down from exhaustion when I pick her up from preschool… keeping it together takes so much out of her! (How well I know the feeling!)

    Welcome to blogland. 🙂

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Oct 01, 2010 @ 22:42:37

      Oh, I thought she did that because she got it from her dad. No doubt soon she’ll also be jogging on a treadmill with an orange rind stuck to her teeth too…

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Off We Go To Mexico! « Growing Muses

Leave a Reply

