A thousand blogs of light

And this tiny star is mine. This is a blog about the evolving identities of life: childhood, young adult, wife, mother. At least these are the major transitions I’ve made so far. The jump from being a child under someone else’s roof to striking out on my own was a pretty straight forward one (though admittedly, even those lines were blurred [more on this later]) . Other transitions were much more subtle, like the time in my late-twenties, when I suddenly realized I was no longer as much of a low maintenance, backpack traveler as I used to be and found myself needing wheely luggage on all future trips. Or when I spent the first half of my career doing one thing, jerked to a halt when I became a parent, and then realize I was actually better at doing something entirely different all along. And that’s where this blog finds me, on the precipice of one identity, morphing into another; transitioning from stay-at-home–mom focusing primarily on kids to a work-at-home-mom writing about my kids and the crazy things raising them makes me do. They are my inspiration and this is a story about finding my voice again after the crazy stage of early-parenthood.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 16:40:32

    Love it Kyla! This is great…look forward to reading the future installments!

    And I CANNOT believe you are so candid as to open this blog up to the whole wide world – fabulous!

    XO
    Leigh

    Reply

    • growingmuses
      Oct 01, 2010 @ 22:31:52

      Thanks Leigh, I’m glad ou like it so far. And not the whole wide world, just friends from Facebook (because really, who else is going to find my wee little blog anyway?)

      Reply

  2. Liza
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 10:20:24

    hey Kyla-
    Congratulations! The blog looks great and I look forward to reading more;) Great opening post as well…

    Cheers! Liza

    Reply

  3. Laura Selvig
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 23:18:41

    Thanks for your thoughts, honesty, humility, humor, and passion. I’m really enjoying your journey! Thanks for sharing. xo Laura

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Three Hundred Sixty-Five « Growing Muses

Leave a Reply

